Chakras: What are the 7 chakras? Where are they located?

contact us

You must have read some books or have heard from many yogis about Chakras. But, do you know what chakras are? How do they work? In the Sanskrit language, chakra means wheel. Here, the spiritual meaning of chakra is \”a wheel of flowing energy\” in the body. We have 114 chakras in total in the human body, and they work as the connection or junction of the Nadis. The Nadis are the passage of prana or energy in the body.

Out of the 114 Chakras, two of them are outside the physical body. In reality, we can only work on 108 chakras from the remaining 112 Chakras. However, we only need 21 chakras to be active in our body to live a full-fledged life. Due to the three dimensions of energy, Pingala, Ida, and Sushumna, these 21 Chakras form 7 sets, each of them with three functioning Chakras that work as one. Therefore, you will be complete if your 21 chakras are functioning physically, psychologically, and emotionally.

Besides, the rest of the chakras need to be activated if other dimensions have to become a living truth. Also, intellect needs to fuel up with energy. A numb intelligence is similar to being non-existent. A computer that has no electricity is similar to a slab of stone. Similarly, the human system can work as a supercomputer, but most human beings have kept it functioning only to the level of survival.

We need to activate our complete system to open the doors of new possibilities. For this, Hatha Yoga can work as the key to start the whole system. Unfortunately, some people consider Hatha yoga as just a type of exercise or health regime. Yoga has more benefits than simple exercise. It helps to activate the human system, which naturally leads to physical and intellectual growth.

How to awaken the 7 Chakras in our body?


Muladhara Chakra


Muladhara or root chakra is the first chakra of the body, known by its name Mula-Adhara means foundation. This chakra is the foundation of the physical structure and the energy body. Further, the root chakra is at the base of your spine at the Perineum. And, majority of people have their consciousness stuck in this chakra for their entire life.

A person won\’t understand health, well-being, and a sense of stability until the Muladhara chakra gets stable. Thus, people who easily get dominated and possessed by materialism, dullness, and sexual activities, get their energies accumulated and bound around the Root chakra. 

Mantra: लं (LAM)

Element: Earth

Swadhishthana Chakra

Swadhisthana-chakra-Sacral chakra

Swadhisthana chakra or Sacral chakra is at the base of the spine and between the navel. The word Swadhishthana stands for an abode of the self. Working with Swadhisthana chakra is one of the most complex and mesmerizing things we can do in the yogic system.

The Swadhisthana chakra supports desires, creativity, sexuality, and personal expansion and connects with the kidneys, bladder, and reproductive organs. The element of the chakra is water that represents flexibility and flow. This energy helps in the transformation and acceptance of change in life.

Mantra: वं (VAM)

Element: Water

Manipura Chakra


The Manipura chakra lies between the navel and the bottom of the rib cage in a human body that symbolizes energy and emotions such as ego, annoyance, and violence. The other name for Manipura chakra is Solar Plexus chakra. You can solve digestive problems, liver problems, and diabetes by concentrating at the point of Manipura chakra.

Apart from the physical benefits, Manipura chakra has emotional benefits that can help in psychological problems like depression, lack of confidence, anger, and many more. Therefore, imbalance in the Manipura Chakra can lead to fatigue, digestive disorders, overeating, etc.

Mantra: रं (RAM)

Element: Fire

Anahata Chakra


Anahata chakra is one of the most prominent energy points in all the chakras. And, another name for Anahata chakra is the Heart chakra. Exploring the divine with love stimulates this chakra. Anahata stands for \”unstruck.\” This chakra is near the heart, which allows a person to meditate in a different stage and gain experiences with an open heart. Therefore, the chakra triggers consciousness, love, compassion, and attachment.

The element of this chakra signifies freedom and expansion. Besides, this chakra can be activated by controlling and maintaining the calmness of the heart. Also, knowledge starts manifesting automatically in a person when the Anahata chakra awakens. One becomes a highly confident, secure, responsible, and emotionally balanced personality. 

Mantra: यं (YAM)

Element: Air

Vishuddha Chakra


Visuddha chakra is also known as the Throat chakra. Located at the base of the Throat, the element energy governed by Vishuddha chakra is prominent communication. Besides, this chakra creates a strong connection between vocal and body language. The Sanskrit word \”Vishuddha\” stands for purification of the body from toxic elements. This chakra revives the energy by detoxifying and removing the impurities from our body and mind. Unhealth, Tamasic food, and polluted air block the Throat chakra.

Imbalance in Vishuddha chakra can lead to a breakdown in communication. The person ignores and refuses to listen to others and even avoids his inner self. People around do not understand that leads to loneliness in life. Therefore, the use of negative words and aggressive behavior is also a sign of disturbed Throat chakra.

Mantra: हं (HAM)

Element: Space

Ajna Chakra


The Ajna chakra is at the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. This chakra is also known as the Third-eye chakra and pronounced as \”Agya chakra.\” The Ajna chakra is the concentration point for many asana and meditation practices. Thus, chakra helps to create a connection with the external world through inner vision. The consciousness increases and transcends to a higher realm when a person awakens the Ajna chakra. The Ajana chakra balances the spiritual and physical qualities and unites the body and mind.

The expanding requirement for material things disconnects a person from his actual self. There is eagerness, assumptions, burdens from the past, and many more negative thoughts that block the person\’s vision. Since Neurons of the brain get affected by the imbalance in the third eye chakra, it has signs like headaches, eye problems, migraines, and brain disorders. 

Mantra: उ (OM)

Element: Light

Sahasrara Chakra


Lastly, the seventh chakra lies in the crown of the head in a human body. The location of the Sahasrara chakra in the head has given it another name, the crown chakra. The Sahasrara chakra refers to spirituality, enlightenment, energized thoughts. Therefore, it helps in gaining spiritual consciousness and connects our soul to the cosmic energy of nature. When balanced a Sahasrara chakra, you will get free from vivid thoughts, frustration, destructive emotions, and other sinful feelings. Thus, if you want to balance your Sahasrara chakra, you may perform Shirshasana (headstand).

Mantra: ॐ (AUM)

Element: N/A

Also Follow Us On: Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *