Saptarishi : The Seven Divine Sages

Saptarishis : Who are Saptarishis?

मरीचिरत्र्यङ्गिरसौ पुलस्त्यः पुलहः क्रतुः | 

वसिष्ठश्च महातेजा एते चित्रशिखण्डिनः।।

“The seven revered Rishis—Marichi, Atri, Angiras, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, and Vasishta—possessing immense energy, collectively referred to as Chitra-sikhandins.”

In the context of the Vaivasuara Manuantara, the Srimad Bhagavatam 8.13.5 lists a different set of seven sages as follows: Kasyapa, Atri, Vasistha, Visvamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni, and Bharadvaja.

Varna Vyavastha: Understanding Varna System

Varna Vyavastha: Understanding Varna System

The term ‘Varna’ (वर्ण) etymologically stems from the root word ‘वृ’ meaning ‘to select,’ and Varna refers to what you choose. Therefore, Varna denoted an occupation chosen intentionally.  The original meaning of “varna” is misconstrued and misinterpreted over time. The term “varna” does not refer to colour-based discrimination but occupations based on qualities and actions.

Amazing Benefits of Ayurveda Medicine (5000 years)

Ayurveda is an ancient Indian health care system practiced for the last 5000 Years. Ayurveda originated from the Sanskrit terms “Ayur” (life) and “Veda” (Knowledge). According to Ayurveda, health is the dynamic and balanced integration between nature, body, and spirit. Ayurveda eradicates the root cause of the illness or disease. The knowledge of Ayurveda was verbally passed over centuries through a lineage of sages in ancient India, later documented into ancient historical textbooks, also known as Veda.


Vedas: 4 Ancient Vedic Texts Of Powerful India

Veda is a peculiar scripture written in ancient India during the second millennial period BCE. Many people consider Veda to be a part of Hindu manuscripts while Vedas were written even before Hinduism was established in India. The texts, principles, mantras, and rituals written in the Vedas inspired day to day lives and cultures of people and established bedrock of Hinduism.