Gurukul – The foundation of Vedic India

Gurukul setup since the time of the Rigveda, is the ancient educational system in India underwent a progressive transformation, with a strong emphasis on the comprehensive growth of individuals. It encompasses their internal and external aspects. It centred around cultivating moral, physical, spiritual, and intellectual dimensions of life. Further, stressing values like modesty, honesty, self-discipline, …

Gurukul – The foundation of Vedic India Read More »

Saptarishi : The Seven Divine Sages

Saptarishis : Who are Saptarishis?

मरीचिरत्र्यङ्गिरसौ पुलस्त्यः पुलहः क्रतुः | 

वसिष्ठश्च महातेजा एते चित्रशिखण्डिनः।।

“The seven revered Rishis—Marichi, Atri, Angiras, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu, and Vasishta—possessing immense energy, collectively referred to as Chitra-sikhandins.”

In the context of the Vaivasuara Manuantara, the Srimad Bhagavatam 8.13.5 lists a different set of seven sages as follows: Kasyapa, Atri, Vasistha, Visvamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni, and Bharadvaja.


What is Time Dilation? Mentioning of Time theory in Sanatan Dharma

In Sanatan Dharma, time is set differently from the conventional linear view in Western philosophy and science. The ancient texts, such as the Vedas and Upanishads, describe time as cyclical and eternal, following the concept of “Samsara,” the cycle of birth, death, and rebirth. This cyclical perspective suggests that time is not just a one-way street but a continuous loop where souls are trapped until they attain liberation or “Moksha.”
Read the complete blog.

Vedic Science

What is Vedic Science? Rishi Munis contributing to Vedic Science

Vedic Science is a part of one of the world’s oldest and most diverse religions. It has a long history of nurturing intellectual pursuits and knowledge in various fields. Throughout history, numerous Hindu sages and scholars have contributed to human advancements in science, mathematics, astronomy, cosmology, and medicine. Let’s discuss some of these Vedic Rishis and their contribution to the field of science.

Varna Vyavastha: Understanding Varna System

Varna Vyavastha: Understanding Varna System

The term ‘Varna’ (वर्ण) etymologically stems from the root word ‘वृ’ meaning ‘to select,’ and Varna refers to what you choose. Therefore, Varna denoted an occupation chosen intentionally.  The original meaning of “varna” is misconstrued and misinterpreted over time. The term “varna” does not refer to colour-based discrimination but occupations based on qualities and actions.

Shrimad Bhagavatam: Understanding the concept of Vedic Cosmology

Shrimad Bhagavatam: Understanding the concept of Vedic Cosmology

Shrimad Bhagavatam describes the creation of the universe into 14 Lokas (mentioned in the fifth skandha of Shrimad Bhagavatam). Also, it describes different universes similar to the ones we have. According to the textual scripture, each brahmand lies within a universal shell divided into 14 Lokas. These 14 Lokas exist, with Jambudwipa in the centre (known world) having Bhu-Lok (Earth). Further, Mount Sumeru represents the axis that connects Jambudwipa with six upper heavenly dimensions going to the top-most Loka, i.e. Satya Lok (Brahma Lok). 

Shlokas and Mantras

Shlokas and Mantras: What is the difference?

“Shloka” and “Mantra” are both terms originating from ancient Sanskrit, carrying significant importance within India’s diverse spiritual traditions. These words are interchangeable, leading to confusion regarding their distinct meanings and applications. However, there are seamless differences between “Shloka” and “Mantra”, referring to their structure, purpose, and use.Understanding these differences is crucial for comprehending their spiritual …

Shlokas and Mantras: What is the difference? Read More »